Australian of the Year Recipients.
The annual Australian of the Year Award is presented on Australia Day and is televised nationwide.
The award is a recognition (as perceived by the Awards Committee) of individuals providing outstanding achievement and contribution to the community in their various roles. Most awards fall into the categories of science, sport and the arts, with other exceptional individual achievements occasionally rewarded.
Australian culture and the special status of indigenous people are especially recognised. There are 9 indigenous recipients (16%) although the percentage of indigenous persons is less than 3% of the total population (23,663,299) (or 700,000 indigenous population.)
Thirteen women have been recognised, half for sporting achievement, or only 19.6% from around half the total population of 25 million.
Sports people comprise 25% of all awards; the arts 19.6% and science and medicine 21.4% in total representing 66% of all awards.
The award is sponsored by the Federal Government and commands broad public support.

The following is a list of the recipients of the Australian of the Year award.
Taryn Brumfitt -  australian of the year - 2023
2024 recipients Scolyer & Long.

1960Sir Macfarlane Burnet OM 1899 1985Virologist; 1960 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine co-recipient.
1961 Dame Joan Sutherland CBE 1926 2010 Opera singer.
1962 Jock Sturrock 1915 1997 Yachtsman.
1963 Sir John Eccles 1903 1997 Neurophysiologist; 1963 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine co-recipient.
1964 Dawn Fraser 1937 Swimmer; gold medal winner at 1956, 1960 and 1964 Summer Olympic Games.
1965 Robert Helpmann CBE 1909 1986 Actor; ballet dancer; director.
1966 Jack Brabham OBE 1926 2014 Racing driver; Formula One champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966.
1967 The Seekers N/A Music group.
1968 Lionel Rose MBE 1948 2011 Boxer; first Aboriginal Australian to win world boxing title (1968).
1969 Lord Casey GCMG,CH,DSO,MC,PC 1890 1976 Politician, diplomat, Governor-General of Australia (1965–1969).
1970 Cardinal Sir Norman Gilroy KBE 1896 1977 Clergyman; first Australian-born Cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church.
1971 Evonne Goolagong 1951 Tennis player.
1972 Shane Gould 1956 Swimmer; winner of three gold medals, a silver and bronze in 1972 Summer Olympics.
1973 Patrick White 1912 1990 Author; 1973 Nobel Prize for Literature recipient.
1974 Sir Bernard Heinze 1894 1982 Conductor.
1975 John Cornforth AC, CBE 1917 Scientist; 1975 Nobel Prize in Chemistry recipient.
Maj. Gen. Alan Stretton AO, CBE 1922 2012 Australian Army officer; managed Cyclone Tracy cleanup.
1976 Lieut. Col. Sir Edward "Weary" Dunlop CMG, OBE 1907 1993 Military surgeon; World War II prisoner of war.
1977 Raigh Roe CBE 1922 President of the Country Women's Association.
Sir Murray Tyrrell KCVO, CBE 1913 1994 Official Secretary to six Governors-General.
1978 Alan Bond 19382015 Businessman.
Galarrwuy Yunupingu 1948 Native title activist.
1979 Neville Bonner 1922 1999 First Aboriginal elected to the Parliament of Australia.
Harry Butler OBE 1930 Naturalist.
1980 Manning Clark AC 1915 1991 Historian.
1981 Sir John Crawford 1910 1984 Economist.
1982 Sir Edward Williams KCMG, KBE, QC 1921 1999Judge - Supreme Court of QLD; chairman of the 1982 Brisbane Commonwealth Games Foundation.
1983 Robert de Castella MBE 1957 Marathon runner
1984 Lowitja O'Donoghue CBE 1932 Aboriginal health worker; inaugural chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (1990–1996).
1985 Paul Hogan 1939 Actor.
1986 Dick Smith 1944Businessman, Philanthropist, Entrepreneur.
1987 John Farnham AO 1949Pop Singer, entertainer.
1988 Kay Cottee AO 1954 First female to perform a single-handed, non-stop circumnavigation of the world (1988).
1989 Allan Border AO 1955 Australian cricket team captain.
1990 Fred Hollows 1921 1993 Ophthalmologist; founder of The Fred Hollows Foundation.
1991 Peter Hollingworth AC, OBE 1935 Bishop; Governor-General of Australia (2001-2003).
1992 Mandawuy Yunupingu 1956 2013 Singer in indigenous band, Yothu Yindi.
1993 No award made: award dating system changed
1994 Ian Kiernan OAM 1940 Environmentalist; founder of Clean Up Australia and Clean Up the World.
1995 Arthur Boyd AC, OBE 1920 1999 Painter.
1996 John Yu AM 1934 Paediatrician.
1997 Peter Doherty AC 1940 Veterinarian; immunologist; 1996 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine recipient.
1998 Cathy Freeman 1973 Athlete; also Young Australian of the Year in 1990.
1999 Mark Taylor AO 1964 Australian cricket team captain.
2000 Sir Gustav Nossal AC, CBE 1931 Biologist. Immunologist.
2001 Gen. Sir Peter Cosgrove AK, MC 1947 Commander of the International Force for East Timor (1999-2000); Chief of Army (2000-02); Chief of the Defence Force (2002-05); Governor-General of Australia (2014-present).
2002 Patrick Rafter 1972 Tennis player - Davis Cup Captain.
2003 Fiona Stanley AC 1946 Epidemiologist.
2004 Steve Waugh AO 1965 Australian cricket team captain and humanitarian.
2005 Fiona Wood AM 1958 Plastic surgeon; worked with victims of the 2002 Bali bombings.
2006 Ian Frazer 1953 Immunologist.
2007 Tim Flannery 1956 Scientist; global warming activist.
2008 Lee Kernaghan OAM 1964Country Music Singer, entertainer.
2009 Mick Dodson AM 1950 Indigenous leader.
2010 Patrick McGorry AO 1953 Psychiatrist.
2011 Simon McKeon AO 1955 Philanthropist businessman.
2012 Geoffrey Rush 1951 Australian actor and film producer.
2013 Ita Buttrose AO, OBE 1942 Australian journalist and businesswoman, founding editor of Cleo.
2014 Adam Goodes 1980 Australian rules footballer and indigenous community leader
2015 Rosie Batty 1962 Domestic violence campaigner.
2016 David Morrison AO 1956 Former Chief of Army. Retired 2016
2017 Professor Alan Mackay-Sim 1951 Stem Cell Research.
2018 Professor Michelle Simmons 1967 Scientist in Quantum Physics
2019 Dr Richard Harris SC OAMHeroic rescue of soccer team trapped in a flooded underground Thailand cave.
Joint Dr Craig Challen SC OAM
2020 Dr. James Muecke 1964 Eye surgeon, opthalmologist
2021 Grace Tame 1995 Anti Sexual and Violence advocate.
2022 Dylan Martin Alcott 1990Paralympic Tennis Champion.
2023 Taryn Brumfitt 1978 Author, Body Image Campaigner.
2024 Georgina Long AO
Richard Scolyer AO


© Copyright Peter W. Wilkins